Ethical
viticulture

As an urban wine producer and negotiant, the grapes behind our current wines belong to our partner growers. The grapes come from vineyards across France. Our vine growers are all organic producers or currently transforming their vineyard to an organic production. We purchase the grapes at a fair price respecting their work, supporting them to continue improving their vineyard, in order to grow higher quality grapes each year.

Our collaboration with selected producers allows to create original wines with unique blends that are virtuous and solidary. Our sincere and ethical collaboration with our partners includes total transparency concerning the origin of the grapes, respect of the terroir and promotion of the producers involved.

Responsible harvesting
and winemaking

Our goal is to manage every step of the wine making from the vine to the glass, with the greatest respect for nature and the environment. To achieve this, the majority of grapes are harvested ourselves by hand, brought back personally to Bordeaux and entirely vinified in our facilities. The use of additives is limited as much as possible during the winemaking: the minimum necessary to guarantee a stable quality wine over time.

You may want to ask us about using no sulfites - and our answer would be: “Give us some time to get a handle on our new winery. Winemaking in a bunker has to be tested before taking any further risks! But we are not far off the no-sulfites mark, and so long as the results are good we will continue to head in this direction.”

our partners
winegrowers

GUILLAUME GUÉRIN

Our one and only Bordelais right now. Situated on a 23 hectares (57 acre) of vineyard on the line that separates the fine gravels of Côtes de Bourg and the clays of Blaye, he only bottles a fraction of his harvest himself, which allows us great possibilities to choose grapes across his diverse terroirs.

SYLVAIN OHAYON & AUDE DUVAL

A young, adventuresome couple that decided to launch a vineyard at the same time as we set up our business. They created the domaine de l’Astre on 8 hectares of limestone farmland near Sainte Foy la Grande. Starting out together has created a superb support network between us.

MANUEL RÉMON

Artisan winemaker by day and poet by night, Manuel recently took over the family winery, La Rune, in the Corbières region of France. The 22 hectares of land high up in the appellation, rise up to 350 meters of altitude, across the scrubland that he loves so much.

ROMAIN MIRC

Romain is passionate about his vines and Mother Earth but does not only care for his own plots. In fact he also enjoys sharing his experiences with other vinegrovers in the South of France and Northern Spain as a consultant. Two years ago he decided to take over the lands of his father to continue the experiments in ecological and biodynamic cultures. 2019 was the year of our first collaboration, the first of many to come!

SÉBASTIEN FEZAS

Sébastien is a authentic man proud of his home region! Cherishing nature and Biodynamics, some years ago he decided to take over the 30ha vineyard after his father. Domaine Jeandaugé has experienced two years of production under the management of Sebastien, who also enjoys taking care of his ageing Armagnac in the Cellars.

PHILIPPE MAFFRE

Field adventurer at his polycultural farm, Philippe is the most experienced man of our project. His malicious eye and kindness to the younger generation makes him turn out to an turbulent teen-ager who is passionate about natural wines since 30 years! Exactly that might be his elixir of youth.

YVES PLAISANTIN

Great technician who has made his career on different terroirs before settling down in Chinon with his business partner. Their estate is situated on three levels of the Chinon appellation: alluvial terraces, the Côtes and the plateau, on which they excel in growing the Cabernet Franc. We chose a plot to harvest which by chance belong to the brother of Yves, who's living in Bordeaux... Seems like the grapes wanted to follow their owner!

FRANCK PICHAVANT

Grand son of a plant commercant specialised in vine, Franck has recently inherited the vineyard situated 30 minutes from Bordeaux in Quinsac. He has been able to find the right people to help him save the gene pool of this vineyard of 2,5ha with an average age of vines of 80 years. A multitude of varietals planted in the same plot and the presence of cherry trees and other fruits in between the vines results in vineyard Agroforestry. Frank's grand-father would have been teaching us all a lot about more natural ways to work the vines. In 2019, Les Chais took on vinification of the complete grape production originating from this Estate. Let's see what the future holds!

JEAN-FRANCOIS DEBOURG

Despite his long-term involvement as producer in the Beaujolais region, selling to local cooperative, he only produces a small part of his 20 hectares (49 acres) of grapes since the last three years. His cuvée Ronchon, illustrates well his humorist character and his passion for his wine and new cellar.

SIMON CAPMARTIN

Despite his long-term involvement as producer in the Beaujolais region, selling to local cooperative, he only produces a small part of his 20 hectares (49 acres) of grapes since the last three years. His cuvée Ronchon, illustrates well his humorist character and his passion for his wine and new cellar.

Une viticulture
éthique

En tant que négociant-vinificateur urbain, les rangs de vignes que nous vinifions sont aujourd’hui ceux de nos partenaires : cette matière première provient des quatre coins du vignoble français. Nos viticulteurs partenaires travaillent tous entièrement leurs vignes en agriculture biologique ou sont actuellement en conversion. Le rachat de raisins se fait contre une rémunération équitable et respectueuse du travail du fournisseur afin de l’aider à mieux conduire son vignoble pour atteindre une qualité des raisins toujours meilleure.

Nous élaborons ainsi des vins atypiques aux assemblages inédits à travers des partenariats vertueux et solidaires. La parfaite transparence quant à l’origine des grains, le respect du terroir d’origine et la mise en avant des cuvées des producteurs attestent d’une coopération sincère et éthique.

Une vinification
responsable

Nous mettons un point d’honneur à mouiller le maillot du début à la fin du processus, de la vigne au verre, toujours dans le plus grand respect de la nature et de l’environnement. Pour une grosse majorité d’entre eux, les raisins sont vendangés par nos soin, ramenés à Bordeaux dans la foulée et intégralement vinifiés dans nos locaux. L’utilisation d’intrants durant la vinification est réduite à son minimum nécessaire pour garantir un vin stable et qualitatif dans le temps.

Si vous nous posez l’épineuse question du zéro sulfites, voici la réponse que nous vous ferons : « Laissez nous déjà maîtriser nos nouveaux locaux, un blockhaus de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale, ça demande à être testé un tout petit peu avant de prendre des risques ! » Mais nous n’en sommes vraiment pas loin, alors tant que le résultat est bon pourquoi ne pas poursuivre sur notre lancée…

Nos vignerons
partenaires

GUILLAUME GUÉRIN

Notre seul et unique bordelais à l’heure actuelle. Sur un vignoble de 23 ha limitrophe entre les graves fines de Côtes de Bourg et les argiles de Blaye, il ne produit lui-même qu’une partie en bouteille, ce qui nous laisse un super terrain de jeux sur sa diversité de terroir…

SYLVAIN OHAYON & AUDE DUVAL

Jeune couple un peu fou, la même année que notre lancement, ils décidèrent de créer le domaine de l’Astré en récupérant un fermage de 8 ha non loin de Sainte-Foy-la-Grande sur son plateau calcaire. Une belle entraide ne pouvant naître que par un double début d’activité !

MANUEL RÉMON

Artisan œnologue la journée et poète de garrigue le soir, il reprend depuis peu le Domaine familial La Rune dans les Corbières : 22 ha sur les hauteurs de l’appellation, culminant à 350 m d’altitude et entrecoupés de cette garrigue qu’il aime tant.

ROMAIN MIRC

Romain est un amoureux de la vigne et de la terre et il ne se contente pas que de regarder la sienne. Il parcourt tout le Sud de la France et Nord de l’Espagne pour apporter son expertise à d’autres vignerons. Depuis 2 ans, il a décidé de récupérer une dizaine hectares à son père sur les terroirs du Nord de Limoux pour donner expression à ses envies d’agriculture Bio et Biodynamique. Le millésime 2019 a marqué nos premières vinifications communes avec ces raisins , l’histoire ne fait que commencer !

SÉBASTIEN FEZAS

Sébastien est un Gerçois digne de ce nom ! Amoureux de nature et de Biodynamie, il a décidé de reprendre les 30ha de son père il y a quelques années. Le Domaine Jeandaugé à Courrensan sous la tutelle de Sebastien produit ses premières cuvées depuis 2 ans tout en continuant à faire vieillir son Armagnac.

PHILIPPE MAFFRE

Baroudeur des champs de sa ferme en polyculture, Philippe est l’Ancien dans notre projet. Mais attention, son œil malicieux et sa bienveillance pour la nouvelle génération en font un adolescent turbulent qui ne jure que par les vins natures depuis plus de 30 ans ! C’est peut être son élixir de jeunesse.

YVES PLAISANTIN

Un super technicien qui a roulé sa bosse sur différentes contrées avant de se poser depuis peu à Chinon avec un associé. Leur exploitation magnifie le Cabernet Franc sur les trois étages de l’appellation de Chinon avec la plaine, le coteau et le plateau. Sans le savoir, nous avons sélectionné une parcelle du plateau appartenant à son frère vivant à Bordeaux…Comme quoi, les raisins avaient juste envie de suivre leur propriétaire !

FRANCK PICHAVANT

Petit fils d’un ancien pépiniériste spécialisé en vigne, Franck hérite depuis peu de ce domaine situé à 30 min de Bordeaux sur la commune de Quinsac. N’étant pas vigneron de formation, il sait s’entourer pour sauver ce patrimoine génétique de 80 ans d’âge en moyenne sur 2,5ha. Une multitude de cépages en complantation et la présence de cerisiers et d’autres arbres fruitiers dans les vignes développent ce que l’on appelle l’Agroforesterie. Son grand-père nous aurait appris beaucoup de choses pour revenir à des façons de travailler plus saines. En 2019, Les Chais se sont chargés de la vinification de l’entière production de raisin du Domaine. Nous verrons ce que nous réserve l’avenir !

JEAN-FRANCOIS DEBOURG

De son long parcours de coopérateur dans le Beaujolais, il ne vinifie depuis 3 ans qu’une petite partie de ses 20 ha. Sa cuvée Ronchon montre bien l’humour du personnage et sa fougue entre ses vignes et son nouveau chai.

SIMON CAPMARTIN

Proche des Pyrénées, l’appellation Madiran dans le Gers produit le fameux cépage bien connu du Sud-Ouest et dont on laisserait traîner le doute qu’il a des propriétés anti-oxidant, le tannat. Aux vues de la vivacité de ce jeune viticulteur qui reprend depuis peu le domaine familial de son nom, cela pourrait être vrai ! Mais pourquoi s’embêter à ne faire que du Tannat ? L’expérimentation agricole à long terme est lancée